make a mixtape with zac little
Make a Mixtape with Zac Little
The Carousel
0:00
-48:40

The Carousel

Hey if you ever feel so inclined, you can now support the podcast w/ a donation at http://paypal.me/makeamixtape

One time I started writing a poem called DON DRAPER SELLS ME A USED CAR, which I never finished but here's what I got:

DON DRAPER SELLS ME A USED CAR

Don Draper slurred at us in a precovid conference room:

You must remember this.

For a moment we believed in the promise of a past we could trust, could hold aside, preserved.

I think all my earliest memories were actually home video

(You must remember this)

Recorded, and played back, ceaselessly against the past

So I picked up a camera and got in the business

of making false memories.

The old ones I once believed in are gone now

Dissolved on magnetic tape.

Teddy told me that "lacuna" means a hole in the bone

We use it to refer to a gap in the fossil record.

We assume it is there, though.

It has to be. 

0 Comments
make a mixtape with zac little
Make a Mixtape with Zac Little
10 songs about your life
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Zac Little